top of page

Ātma is distinct from 5 sheath

Pañca-kośa (5 sheath)

After analysis of Ātma from the point view of 3 bodies, now we try to analyse from another view point, which is 5 kośa. Both methods are talking about the same thing alone, so here the connection is shown:


5 Sheath 3 Bodies

Annamaya-kośa (food modified sheath) = Gross-body

Prānamaya-kośa (vital air sheath) = Subtle-body (5 vital air & 5 organs of action)

Manomaya-kośa (mind sheath) = Subtle-body (mind & 5 organs of perception)

Vijñanamaya-kośa (intellect sheath) = Subtle-body (intellect & 5 organs ofperception)

Ānandamaya-kośa (happiness sheath) = Causal-body with ahankara


Kośa means covering. It does not mean, to see the true nature of me Ātma, I need to remove them layer by layer. Ātma can not be covered. It is called covered only when Ātma committed mistakes, taking each level of experience to be itself.

When we understand that they are all manifestation of māyā sakti, they are just there as annamaya etc, not as kośa covering.

Recent Posts

See All

Oneness of Jīva, Jagat, & Īsvara

After knowing my true nature is Saccidānanda Ātma, which is equated to Brahman/Īsvara-the creator of the entire universe, there is still a very important factor which needs to be completed in this equ

Sat-Existence & Ānanda-Happiness

Sat-svarūpah, of the nature of Existence Sat-Existence which is remains in 3 periods of time (past, present, future). If śruti said that I am that Brahman which is never ceases to be, how about when o

What Is Brahman?

After analysis of the meaning of "I" Ātma, now I know that I am distinct from this body, mind, sense complex, through analysis of 3 bodies and 5 kośa. I am the witness of what I am experienced in waki

bottom of page