Vision of Gītā

When we try to see our entire life, the whole life is nothing but ongoing pursues.

Infinite numbers of goals and also varies from individual to individual and also varies from time to time. But all these pursues can be categorized into three basic categories, artha-security, kāma-enjoyment and dharma-norms & duty.

Since baby, we were looking for security by crying to be carried. Then we pursued education so we can find a job which gives financial security. Then we get married to fulfilled certain insecurity of not having companion or progeny. When we are old there are more insecurities which are surfaced due to the declining of the physical and mental capacity. All these pursues of security is called artha. In the same time, we also looking for enjoyment throughout our entire life, this pursue is called kāma. After certain age, values and duties are taught to us, therefore we can pursues artha and kāma being governed by dharma to maintain social harmony and to improve individual maturity.

Throughout the stages of life, the sense of security and the form of enjoyment keep changing. There is no end of these pursues. Even for dharma which guide our life not to fall in to the bad-lot and bring us to the better place like heaven, also has no end, because heaven is also not eternal. After all the punya (unseen result of the actions which fructified as desirable situation) are spent, we also need to go back to the un-ending pursues. Fulfilment means no lacking. Pursuing security means pursuing freedom from insecurity. We only wants to have what we don't have isn't it? Or to protect and maintain something which we already have (which involved some others pursue).

But when we really enquire about all these three pursues in our life, there is only one underlying pursue which is freedom from pursuing called moksa - liberation.

Gītā which is also called moksa-śāstra (teaching which protect me for the goal of liberation), takes us towards this pursue. Because being Veda-sāra (the essence of veda), it paths us to be an adhikārī (qualified person) for this moksa pursue. Veda itself is a total body of knowledge to prepare one for the goal of moksa.

Veda can be seen in four divisions:

1. Mantra-bhagah, division deals with mantra and prayer.

2. Brahmana-bhagah, division deals with karma-yoga.

3. Aranya-bhagah, division deals with upasana-meditation.

4. Upanisad-bhagah, division deals with jñāna-yoga - self knowledge.

Even though the means to gain adhikāritvam (qualification) are many, but there is only one goal which is moksa. This is the vision of the entire Veda, also the vision of Gītā.

Recent Posts

See All

Worship Īśvara in every action

Human being is endowed with freewill which determines our goal of life. Based on what we desired, Īśvara gives result of our karma (including prayer) accordingly through law of karma. Therefore desire

Prayer is for purity of the mind

The devotee who worships with worldly desire was described in previous verses, now devoteee who worships without asking for worldly desires (either one who is till working on abiding in the self-knowl

Seeing Īśvara in every aspects

How does one see Īśvara in every aspect of one's life? aham kraturaham yajñah svadhāhamahamausadham | mantro'hamahamevājyam ahamagniraham hutam ||9.16|| I am the ritual, I am the worship, I am the foo